Whited v. Cavin

105 P. 396, 55 Or. 98, 1909 Ore. LEXIS 186
Oregon Supreme Court·Decided December 14, 1909·Published·Cited by 18 cases

Opinion

Mr. Justice King

delivered the opinion of the court.

A careful examination of the record discloses the following state of facts: The south fork of Burnt River is a perennial stream, furnishing a supply, during the dry period of each year, of from 20 to 40 second-feet of water, and rises near the southwest corner of Baker County, flowing northeasterly through an arid section of country, for a distance of about 12 miles, where it empties into the main channel of Burnt River. In 1880 Thos. J. Whited, one of the plaintiffs, settled on the south fork of Burnt River, where he has since resided. Some time [102] in 1881, at a point on the west bank of the stream, and a short distance above the southwest corner of his land, in the northeaest corner of the southeast quarter of section 1, township 13 south, range 36 east, W. M., he commenced and constructed, for a distance of about- 300 feet, a ditch three feet in width and of about the same depth, when the work was discontinued. The following year he continued his survey and construction of the ditch contemplated by this location, extending it about a quarter of a mile. As thus extended the ditch was reduced in size and made large enough only to meet his immediate demands, consisting in the irrigation of a small crop then in cultivation on his premises. By the year 1883 the other plaintiffs settled in the same neighborhood, who, in the spring of that year entered into an agreement with the Whiteds, whereby the ditch, begun in 1881, should be enlarged and extended to cover the lands lying thereunder, and soon after such enlargement and extension, during the same year, some water was conveyed through the ditch to and over the Whited property'. This canal is now- known as the “Wham-Whited Upper ditch.” Plaintiffs’ joint holdings along the stream aggregate 1080 acres of land, not more than 480 acres being west of the creek and under the ditch or canal mentioned, the tillable portion of which, not • exceeding 440' acres, was intended to be reclaimed by their appropriation. The defendants, and their predecessors in interest, settled upon the south fork of Burnt Biver after the commencement of the construction of the ditch mentioned. At the time plaintiffs began the enlargement of their canal, none of the defendants had taken any steps toward the location of water rights in that vicinity. The “Wham-Whited Lower ditch” was constructed in 1887, and is a part of the system contemplated by the enlargement of the upper ditch of that name. The “Tiger Ditch” was constructed in 1895, tapping the channel of the creek about a mile and a quarter [103] above the Wham-Whited Upper ditch. Its ownership is not clear, but appears to be plaintiffs, Thomas J. Whited and Joseph Wham, and defendants James Moore, Boyd Elliott, George Fosnot, and M. L. Hoskins. The Tiger and Curop & Co.’s ditches were constructed after the appropriation made by appellants through their canals, herein described.

1. In the spring of 1884, J. M. Laport initiated a water right through what has since been known as “Powell’s East ditch,” which was used during that season in the irrigating of three or four acres of land. In the year 1887, Laport initiated another water right, higher up the river, by digging a few rods of ditch, tapping the stream at a point on the west side of Section 13, and, a few months later, entered into an agreement, respecting this contemplated appropriation, with John Powell, and, as a result, had surveyed what is known as the “Powell-Laport ditch.” Along this line of survey they dug in 1887, a ditch, tapping some warm springs situated near the river and secured thereby, for irrigation purposes, a flow of 75 to 100 inches. The following year this canal, for the purpose of irrigating the Powell and Laport farms, was extended up the stream to a point where it connected with the few rods of ditch last mentioned, tapping the south fork of Burnt River, and diverting therefrom a larger quantity of water. This ditch has a carrying capacity of 360 inches, having been extended from year to year until 1894, when it was completed to the point of its present use. What is designated as the “Campbell” or “Elms” ditch taps the south fork of Burnt River near the center of the north line of Section 23, and is used in the irrigación of the lands of some of the non-answering defendants. The construction of this ditch was begun about the year 1888, and subsequently enlarged, the extent of which is not clear; but in 1894 it was increased to its present carrying capacity, estimated at 554 inches. The [104] water right acquired through what is known as the “Cavin ditch” was initiated about the year 1886. This ditch, the capacity of which is estimated at 374 inches, taps the east side of the south fork of Burnt River about 1 miles above the Campbell or Elms ditch, and was first extensively used in 1889, in the irrigation of lands owned by the predecessors in interest of Samuel Cavin, Mrs. Lizzie B. Carniga, E. B. Carlisle, Mrs. Delilah G. Nelson, Mike Rouse, and E. L. Sanford. The canal known as the “Lancaster ditch” taps the east side of the south fork of Burnt River above the Cavin ditch, and, like the Cavin ditch, runs in a northeasterly direction. It was begun and completed prior to the year 1891, has a carrying capacity of 440 inches, and has been used in the irrigation of lands owned by Rouse Bros., C. G. Nelson, and G. W. Fleetwood. It thus appears that plaintiffs’ rights in and to the waters of the south fork of Burnt River were initiated prior to those of any of the defendants. Arrangements were made in 1883, whereby the plaintiffs joined in the enlargement and extension of the ditch begun by Whited in 1881, and the work of enlarging and extending it, to cover their lands, was diligently prosecuted until its completion, which was accomplished within four years from the commencement thereof. This, we believe, in view of the difficulties encountered in its construction, and other circumstances, disclosed by the record, was within a reasonable time. Moss v. Rose, 27 Or. 595 (41 Pac. 666: 50 Am. St. Rep. 743) ; Nevada Ditch Co. v. Bennett, 30 Or. 59, 61 (45 Pac. 472: 60 Am. St. Rep. 777).

Free access — add to your briefcase to read the full text and ask questions with AI

Whited v. Cavin, 105 P. 396, 55 Or. 98, 1909 Ore. LEXIS 186 (Or. 1909).

105 P. 396 (Whited v. Cavin) — published by Counsel Stack Legal Research, free access to 12M+ legal documents.

Related

Russell-Smith v. Water Resources Department
952 P.2d 104 (Court of Appeals of Oregon, 1998)
Hutchinson v. Stricklin
28 P.2d 225 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1934)
Broughton v. Stricklin
30 P.2d 332 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1934)
In Re Water Rights of Deschutes River
294 P. 1049 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1929)
Haney v. Neace-Stark Co.
216 P. 757 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1923)
Re Determination of Water Rights of Hood River.
227 P. 1065 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1923)
Pabst v. Finmand
211 P. 11 (California Supreme Court, 1922)
Harvey v. Campbell
209 P. 107 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1922)
Hill v. American Land & Livestock Co.
161 P. 403 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1916)
Amalgamated Sugar Co. v. Hempe
226 F. 1012 (D. Oregon, 1915)
In re North Powder River
144 P. 485 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1914)
In re Willow Creek
144 P. 505 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1914)
Nichols v. Hufford
133 P. 1084 (Wyoming Supreme Court, 1913)
State ex rel. Ham, Yearsley & Ryrie v. Superior Court
126 P. 945 (Washington Supreme Court, 1912)
Caviness v. La Grande Irr. Co.
119 P. 731 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1911)
Carnes v. Dalton
110 P. 170 (Oregon Supreme Court, 1910)