United States v. Bryon Jones

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit·Decided May 31, 2023·No. 22-4121·Unpublished

Opinion

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 22-4121

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff – Appellee,

v.

BYRON JONES, a/k/a Brian Simms, Defendant – Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Western District of North Carolina, at Charlotte. Robert J. Conrad, Jr., District Judge. (3:20-cr-00254-RJC-DSC-1)

Submitted: April 19, 2023 Decided: May 31, 2023

Before AGEE and WYNN, Circuit Judges, and Henry E. HUDSON, Senior United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Virginia, sitting by designation.

Affirmed in part, vacated in part, and remanded by unpublished per curiam opinion.

ON BRIEF: John G. Baker, Federal Public Defender, Megan C. Hoffman, Federal Public Defender, FEDERAL DEFENDERS OF WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA, INC., Charlotte, North Carolina, for Appellant. Dena J. King, United States Attorney, Graham R. Billings, Assistant United States Attorney, OFFICE OF THE UNITED STATES ATTORNEY, Charlotte, North Carolina, for Appellee.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.

PER CURIAM:

Byron Jones was on supervised release when he paid a purported financial advisor to file an application for a COVID-19 relief loan on behalf of his newly established business. The application contained multiple false statements, including inaccurate representations of the business’ revenues and Jones’ criminal history. After the application was approved, Jones received $143,000 in relief funds from the Government.

When the application’s falsities were discovered, the Government filed a petition to revoke Jones’ supervised release, asserting that Jones committed three violations of law in connection with the application. In his defense, Jones asserted that the financial advisor filed his application and included the false statements without his knowledge. The district court rejected Jones’ argument and found that the Government proved that Jones committed the alleged violations by the required preponderance of the evidence. The court then sentenced Jones to twenty-four months’ imprisonment and five years’ supervised release but failed to orally pronounce his discretionary conditions of release. Jones appeals. For the reasons discussed below, we affirm the district court’s revocation of Jones’ conditional release but vacate Jones’ sentence and remand for resentencing.

I.

A.

In November 2006, Jones was convicted of multiple offenses and sentenced to 240 months’ imprisonment and ten years’ supervised release. Jones served his custodial sentence and began his term of supervised release in November 2019. As a condition of

release, Jones was prohibited from committing another crime. This appeal stems from Jones’ violation of that condition.

In April 2020, Jones incorporated a trucking business, Ramses Air Freight & Transport, Inc. (RAFT), in Delaware. 1 Shortly thereafter, as a routine part of Jones’ supervision, Jones submitted financial disclosure statements to his probation officer, Asa Gravely. Jones reported that he was employed as a delivery driver and made approximately $1,400 in gross monthly wages. He also noted that he was self-employed and owned a business, RAFT. Jones did not disclose any wages associated with RAFT, but did inform Gravely that RAFT obtained a COVID-19 relief loan.

As a result, Gravely directed Jones to complete a business financial disclosure statement and provide supporting bank statements. Jones completed the form, noting that RAFT’s bank account had a balance of $81,013.15 and that the business’ only asset was a semi-truck. Jones had opened the bank account a few months earlier and funded it with a $25 deposit from his personal account. Jones did not disclose any accounts receivable or business income. Instead, Jones informed Gravely that the money in RAFT’s bank account was from the COVID-19 relief loan. This information concerned Gravely, so he investigated further.

The investigation showed that the Small Business Administration (SBA) received an electronic application in June 2020 for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL)

1

In 1999, Jones incorporated a trucking business in Arizona with the same name.

While Jones was in prison, that corporation ceased to exist.

pursuant to the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act. 2 The application consisted of two separate forms, a Rapid Intake Form and a Loan Authorization and Agreement (“Loan Authorization”). The following false information about RAFT was included in the Rapid Intake Form: (1) RAFT was incorporated in 1999; (2) it had $286,000 in gross revenues in the twelve months preceding January 31, 2020; and (3) it had non-profit/agriculture costs of operation of $138,389 in the twelve months preceding January 31, 2020. The Rapid Intake Form also falsely stated that the business owner had not been placed on parole or probation in the past five years. Lastly, the Rapid Intake Form indicated that it was not prepared by a third party and that no payments were made to a third party for application preparation services.

Based on the Rapid Intake Form, RAFT qualified for a $133,000 loan and a $10,000 cash advance. On June 30, 2020, the SBA deposited $10,000 into RAFT’s bank account. Ten days later, Jones signed the Loan Authorization, which did not require Jones to include any substantive information. Instead, Jones was only required to certify that no fees had been paid to a third-party preparer other than those disclosed on the application and that all representations in the Rapid Intake Form were accurate. Jones signed the agreement under penalty of perjury. Three days later, the SBA deposited the full loan amount in RAFT’s bank account.

2

The COVID-19 EIDL program allowed then-existing small businesses experiencing economic injury caused by the pandemic to obtain loans to pay expenditures necessary to alleviate that injury. Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act, Pub. L. No. 116-136, §§ 1107, 1110, 134 Stat. 281 (2020).

Upon questioning, Jones informed Gravely that Shay Chambers, someone purporting to be a financial advisor and certified public accountant (CPA) in Ohio, prepared the application. 3 Jones paid Chambers $13,000 in exchange for the preparation and for performing certain additional financial services. He also explained that he told Chambers that RAFT’s revenue was $286,000 because he believed the question requesting his “Gross Revenues for the Twelve (12) Months Prior to the Date of Disaster” on the application sought his projected revenue. J.A. 250. However, he did not clarify why he misunderstood the question or explain how he calculated the $286,000 projected revenue figure. Jones also stated that he never reviewed the Rapid Intake Form but acknowledged that he signed the Loan Authorization.

Thereafter, the Government filed a three-count indictment against Jones, charging him with wire fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1343, false statements in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1014, and transactional money laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1957. The next day, the Government filed a petition to revoke Jones’ supervised release in the district court. The petition alleged three new violations of law corresponding with the three counts charged in the indictment. 4 B.

In January 2020, the district court held a revocation hearing, during which Jones conceded that fraud occurred, but contended that he lacked the necessary mens rea to

Although the parties do not specifically say so, we glean from context that

3

Chambers was neither a legitimate financial advisor nor a CPA.

4

The district court later granted the Government’s motion to dismiss the indictment.

Free access — add to your briefcase to read the full text and ask questions with AI

United States v. Bryon Jones, (4th Cir. 2023).

United States v. Bryon Jones (United States v. Bryon Jones) — published by Counsel Stack Legal Research, free access to 12M+ legal documents.

Related

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City
470 U.S. 564 (Supreme Court, 1985)
United States v. Danny K. Smith
29 F.3d 914 (Fourth Circuit, 1994)
United States v. G. Martin Wynn
684 F.3d 473 (Fourth Circuit, 2012)
United States v. Harvey
532 F.3d 326 (Fourth Circuit, 2008)
United States v. Austin Webb, Jr.
738 F.3d 638 (Fourth Circuit, 2013)
United States v. Robert Padgett
788 F.3d 370 (Fourth Circuit, 2015)
United States v. Cortez Rogers
961 F.3d 291 (Fourth Circuit, 2020)
United States v. Christopher Singletary
984 F.3d 341 (Fourth Circuit, 2021)