Stone Harbor Estates, Inc. v. Kennedy Funding Financial, LLC

New Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division·Decided December 20, 2023·No. A-0108-20·Unpublished

Opinion

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court ." Although it is posted on the internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited . R. 1:36-3.

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY APPELLATE DIVISION

DOCKET NO. A-0108-20

STONE HARBOR ESTATES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant/

Cross-Respondent,

v.

KENNEDY FUNDING FINANCIAL, LLC, and KEVIN WOLFER,

Defendants-Respondents/

Cross-Appellants,

and

CB RICHARD ELLIS, TIMOTHY GOLDEN, JR., JOHN J. LYNCH, COLLIERS INTERNATIONAL, GREGGIE D. PASCUAL, and JAKE RAMAGE,

Defendants,

v. EDWARD ST. JOHN,

Third-Party Defendant.

Argued October 31, 2023 – Decided December 20, 2023 Before Judges Whipple, Mayer and Paganelli.

On appeal from the Superior Court of New Jersey, Law Division, Bergen County, Docket No. L-8363-15.

Thomas D. Flinn argued the cause for appellant/crossrespondent (Garrity, Graham, Murphy, Garofalo & Flinn, PC, attorneys; Thomas D. Flinn and Brian M.

Gerstein, on the briefs).

Evan M. Goldman argued the cause for respondents/cross-appellants (Greenspoon Marder, LLP, attorneys; Evan M. Goldman, on the briefs).

PER CURIAM Plaintiff, Stone Harbor Estates, Inc. (SHE) appeals, and Kennedy Funding Financial, LLC (KFF) and Kevin Wolfer cross-appeal, from a judgment and two post-judgment orders after a bench trial. We apply a deferential standard in reviewing factual findings by a judge from a bench trial, Balducci v. Cige, 240 N.J. 574, 594-95 (2020), yielding to the trial court "that heard the witnesses, sifted the competing evidence, and made reasoned conclusions," Griepenburg v. Twp. of Ocean, 220 N.J. 239, 254 (2015). We review conclusions of law de novo. Manalapan Realty, L.P. v. Twp. Comm. of

A-0108-20

Manalapan, 140 N.J. 366, 378 (1995). Utilizing that lens, we affirm for the reasons in the written decision after trial by Judge Estela De La Cruz.

Our decision is informed by the record. In 2011, Triad III, LLC (Triad), a holding company owned and controlled by William Bowman, obtained a twenty-four-month option to acquire residential land around Stone Harbor Golf Club in Middle Township and the permits attached to the land. Triad paid $5.29 million for the option, which included a purchase price of $5 million and an option fee of $290,000. In 2013, Bowman's former accountant, Edward St. John, established SHE to develop seventy duplex carriage homes and 132 single-family homes on the site's 202 lots. Triad assigned the option to SHE, in exchange for $13.5 million. Bowman is SHE's operations manager, and another of his companies, William Bowman Associates (WBA), was engaged in land development specializing in infrastructure work, such as preparing raw ground for building homes.

In order to pay Triad for the assignment and develop the property, SHE sought funding from KFF. On March 17, 2013, SHE applied for a $19 to $22 million loan from KFF. Bowman met with representatives of KFF, including Kevin Wolfer, KFF's President and CEO, to make a follow-up presentation. SHE understood any loan offer was subject to the appraisal of SHE's real

A-0108-20

estate collateral. SHE had asserted the value of the collateral was worth over $24 million.

According to KFF and Wolfer, the negotiations were predicated on the misapprehension that the amount sought by SHE was a second mortgage designed to buy out a partner, Triad, and make the project more profitable— not money intended to satisfy the bankruptcy debt of Bowman's existing businesses. Wolfer testified Bowman misrepresented the purchase price of the property as $13.5 million—as opposed to $5 million for the underlying property plus an additional $8.5 million for Triad under its agreement with SHE—in order to claim that the overall value of the property was $27 million.

On March 12, 2014—almost a year after the parties' initial agreement to pursue a loan deal—KFF and SHE agreed in principle to a maximum loan of $19 million, with the exact amount to be determined by the "as is" value of the collateral combined with a projection of the "as completed" value. SHE paid KFF $95,000 as a fee for this loan commitment. The loan commitment also entitled both parties to elect the appointment of an independent third-party appraiser to make a binding appraisal in the event of a dispute.

The first appraisal was requested by KFF directly and was not the result of an election of an independent appraiser by either party as per their

A-0108-20

agreement. It was performed by CB Richard Ellis (CBRE), which had a longstanding relationship with KFF. Wolfer testified Bowman was aware of this appraisal and was encouraged to share documentation with CBRE to facilitate a fair valuation.

CBRE issued its appraisal report in March 2014 (March appraisal). The March appraisal set the market value of the property at $12.7 million and the as-completed value at $19.3 million. Based on that appraised value and the loan agreement, KFF extended a total loan offer of $10.6 million and an initial advance of $7.6 million.

SHE did not immediately accept the loan offer, and it soon became clear that underlying assumptions in CBRE's March appraisal—especially as related to the permits—were not supported by the facts. When SHE submitted its initial loan request to KFF, SHE had final subdivision approval for seventy carriage homes and thirty-two single family homes and preliminary approval for the remaining one hundred lots, which were being held for a second phase of building single-family homes. SHE also had permits to install a water main extension and supply water to 177 lots. During the course of negotiations, SHE acquired permits to supply water to the remaining twenty-five lots.

A-0108-20

When it was revealed SHE did not have final approval for all lots, or water permits for lots beyond the initial 177 issued, KFF directed CBRE employee John J. Lynch to conduct a new appraisal: treating SHE's project as if only 177 units could be built, lowering the discount rate to account for the lack of final approvals on 100 of the lots, and giving the 141 lots to be constructed after Phase 1, Section 1, only an as-is value—not an as-completed value. Lynch testified the instructions were delivered via telephone call, and he would not have made such changes without direction from Wolfer.

KFF did not disclose this second CBRE appraisal to SHE. This second appraisal was not formally used in a valuation of SHE's collateral by KFF, but it informed negotiations between the parties during the summer of 2014 on proposals which would have lowered the initial purchase price due from SHE to Triad and subordinated certain payments to Triad to give KFF a first mortgage on the property. After these negotiations, KFF revised its loan offer, lowering the offer to a total of $9.1 million with $6.1 million available as an advance.

SHE, dissatisfied with both the March appraisal from CBRE and KFF's loan offers, elected to seek and be bound by a new appraisal under the third- party appraiser provision of the loan commitment. Wolfer suggested Colliers

A-0108-20

International (Colliers), with which he had an extensive business relationship that he did not disclose to SHE. SHE accepted Wolfer's suggestion, unaware of the relationship between KFF and Colliers.

Wolfer disclosed the results of the second CBRE appraisal to Colliers'

appraisers Greggie D. Pascual and Jake Ramage. During the appraisal process, Wolfer emailed the Colliers appraisers and told them to appraise under a discounted cash flow model and to calculate the discount rate and the price per lot. Wolfer also dictated how many lots the Colliers appraisers should consider finished—as opposed to unfinished—for the purposes of the evaluation. Those conversations affected the numbers the appraisers used in their models. The Colliers appraisal, issued September 22, 2014, appraised the value of the project as $7.1 million as-is, and $11.8 million as completed.

Free access — add to your briefcase to read the full text and ask questions with AI

Stone Harbor Estates, Inc. v. Kennedy Funding Financial, LLC, (N.J. Ct. App. 2023).

Stone Harbor Estates, Inc. v. Kennedy Funding Financial, LLC (Stone Harbor Estates, Inc. v. Kennedy Funding Financial, LLC) — published by Counsel Stack Legal Research, free access to 12M+ legal documents.

Related

Ocean Cape Hotel Corp. v. Masefield Corp.
164 A.2d 607 (New Jersey Superior Court App Division, 1960)
Torres v. Schripps, Inc.
776 A.2d 915 (New Jersey Superior Court App Division, 2001)
Sons of Thunder, Inc. v. Borden, Inc.
690 A.2d 575 (Supreme Court of New Jersey, 1997)
Manalapan Realty v. Township Committee of the Township of Manalapan
658 A.2d 1230 (Supreme Court of New Jersey, 1995)
Wilson v. Amerada Hess Corp.
773 A.2d 1121 (Supreme Court of New Jersey, 2001)
Todd v. Sheridan
633 A.2d 1009 (New Jersey Superior Court App Division, 1993)
Thomas Griepenburg v. Township of Ocean (073290)
105 A.3d 1082 (Supreme Court of New Jersey, 2015)
Johnson v. American Homestead Mortgage Corp.
703 A.2d 984 (New Jersey Superior Court App Division, 1997)