Danielle Krimbow v. Life Insurance Company of the Southwest

District Court, N.D. California·Decided July 15, 2026·No. 5:23-cv-04068·Unknown

Opinion

DANIELLE KRIMBOW, Case No. 23-cv-04068-PCP

Plaintiff, ORDER RE: CLASS CERTIFICATION v. Re: Dkt. Nos. 108, 109, 110, 117, 121 SOUTHWEST, Defendant.

In this action, plaintiff Danielle Krimbow asserts a single claim against defendant Life Insurance Company of the Southwest (LICS) under California’s Unfair Competition Law. She alleges that LICS charged fees for certain add-on benefits to deferred indexed annuity plans that it offered to California public-school employees without disclosing such fees on 403bCompare.com as required by California Education Code § 25101(a)(3). Krimbow now moves to certify a class of similarly situated public employees who purchased LICS annuity products. For the reasons that follow, the motion is granted in part. This case concerns “403(b) plans”: “tax-sheltered annuity … program[s] under section 403(b) of the Internal Revenue Code … for employees of public schools, employees of certain tax- exempt organizations, and certain ministers.” Daniels-Hall v. Nat’l Educ. Ass’n, 629 F.3d 992, 996 (9th Cir. 2010). As the Court has previously explained: An annuity plan is a contract, typically with an insurance company. The customer pays a premium at the outset and in exchange the company promises regular payments for a set period of time. The payments might end either on a fixed date or when the customer dies. In an immediate annuity, the payments start right away. In a deferred then, the customer can withdraw their upfront payment and close their account (though there might be a fee for doing so). And until the deferred payments start, the premiums paid to the insurance company by the customer accumulate interest. There are different ways to calculate the interest rate earned by a deferred annuity. For an “indexed” annuity, the annuity provider pays an interest rate that is tied to the performance of a market index like the S&P 500 or Dow Jones Industrial Average. The insurance company does not necessarily invest the customer’s premiums in the specified index. Instead, the company simply promises to pay an interest rate that is determined by the index's performance. The interest rate is thus a matter of contract rather than a reflection of gains directly earned by investing the customers’ premiums in the specified index. Hoffman v. Life Ins. Co. of the Sw., 740 F. Supp. 3d 918, 922 (N.D. Cal. 2024). Prospective vendors of 403(b) annuity products in California are required by statute to register those products with the California State Teachers’ Retirement Board, see Cal. Educ. Code § 25101, which “maintain[s] an impartial investment information bank” online at 403bCompare.com, id. § 25104. Vendors must also disclose specified information about any 403(b) product offered in California on that website. Id. § 25101(a). As relevant here, “prospective vendors shall provide … [a] disclosure of all expenses paid directly or indirectly by retirement plan participants, including, but not limited to, penalties for early withdrawals, declining or fixed withdrawal charges, surrender or deposit charges, management fees, and annual fees[.]” Id. § 25101(a)(3). “A vendor may not charge a fee associated with a registered 403(b) product that is not disclosed” on the website. Id. § 25107. LICS issues life insurance and annuities across the country, including by offering 403(b) annuity plans to public-school employees in California. At issue in this case are two types of LICS “riders” providing enhancements to customers’ deferred indexed annuity plans. First, at the time of their annuity product purchase, a policyholder may elect to add a Guaranteed Life Income Rider (GLIR) that allows the policyholder to receive income withdrawals from the annuity policy for life, even after the value of the policy has been fully depleted. See Dkt. No. 111-2, at 29. The benefit comes at a cost: Policyholders must pay an additional fee consisting for a particular policyholder is locked at the time that the policyholder purchases their annuity plan, but the percentage for new GLIR purchasers changes overtime. Dkt. No. 111-1 ¶ 2. The charge was 0.75% before May 2016, 0.80% from May 2016 to January 2019, and 0.90% after January 2019. Id. The applicable charge rates at the time policyholders purchased GLIR were disclosed in policyholders’ contracts. See, e.g., Dkt. No. 111-2, at 29. But LICS did not update the charge rate listed on 403bCompare.com after the May 2016 or January 2019 increases, so the website continued to list the 0.75% rate even after the 0.80% and 0.90% rates began to apply. See Dkt. No. 108-3, at 24:10–25:15. Second, LICS’s “rate booster” product offers more favorable interest-crediting strategies, like a higher cap on the interest rate a policyholder can receive. Dkt. No. 111-1 ¶ 5. In exchange, policyholders pay an additional annual fee of one percent of their policy value. Id. LICS began offering the product as an add-on to two existing policies held by putative class members: FIT Certain Income and FIT Rewards Growth. Both of those policies were discontinued for new customers in California by the time the “rate booster” rider became available. Id. ¶ 7. For that reason, LICS never added rate-booster fee information to the product pages for those two policies on 403bCompare.com. Instead, LICS notified existing policyholders of the optional rider by mail. Id. ¶ 6. Krimbow is a public-school teacher in California who in September 2019 purchased a “SecurePlus Platinum” annuity issued by LICS. See Dkt. No. 111-2, at 11. When she purchased that annuity, Krimbow elected to add the GLIR. See id. at 29. The applicable charge rate for the rider was 0.90%, which LICS disclosed in her contract, but the charge rate listed on 403bCompare.com at the time of her purchase was 0.75%. See id.; Dkt. No. 108-3, at 24:10– 25:15. Krimbow has attested that she did not visit the website before purchasing the rider. See Dkt. No. 111-5, at 12:7–10. Krimbow did not purchase a rate booster rider. Krimbow and several other plaintiffs commenced this action against LICS in state court in 2023, asserting UCL claims based on various alleged violations of the Education Code. LICS removed the case to this Court and moved to dismiss for failure to state a claim. The Court granted LICS engaged in unfair and unlawful practices under the UCL by charging rider fees that were not disclosed on 403bCompare.com. See Hoffman, 740 F. Supp. 3d at 929. Krimbow now moves to certify a class of similarly situated California public-school employees who purchased 403(b) annuity products from LICS from June 2019 to the present and who paid rider fees that were not disclosed on 403bCompare.com. The putative class includes policyholders who purchased the GLIR and the rate booster rider. Krimbow proposes to serve as the class’s sole representative. Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23 governs class certification. The party seeking class certification must first satisfy the requirements of Rule 23(a) by demonstrating that: (1) the class is so numerous that joinder of all members is impracticable; (2) there are questions of law or fact common to the class; (3) the claims or defenses of the representative parties are typical of the claims or defenses of the class; and (4) the representative parties will fairly and adequately protect the interests of the class. Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a). In addition to making this showing, “the proposed class must satisfy at least one of the three requirements listed in Rule 23(b).” Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Dukes, 564 U.S. 338, 345 (2011). Krimbow seeks certification under Rule 2

Free access — add to your briefcase to read the full text and ask questions with AI

Danielle Krimbow v. Life Insurance Company of the Southwest, (N.D. Cal. 2026).

Danielle Krimbow v. Life Insurance Company of the Southwest (Danielle Krimbow v. Life Insurance Company of the Southwest) — published by Counsel Stack Legal Research, free access to 12M+ legal documents.

Related

Amchem Products, Inc. v. Windsor
521 U.S. 591 (Supreme Court, 1997)
Daniels-Hall v. National Education Ass'n
629 F.3d 992 (Ninth Circuit, 2010)
Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Dukes
131 S. Ct. 2541 (Supreme Court, 2011)
Harris v. Vector Marketing Corp.
753 F. Supp. 2d 996 (N.D. California, 2010)
Denise Edwards v. the First American Corp
798 F.3d 1172 (Ninth Circuit, 2015)
Tyson Foods, Inc. v. Bouaphakeo
577 U.S. 442 (Supreme Court, 2016)
Ramírez v. Arlequín
447 F.3d 19 (First Circuit, 2006)
Dufour v. Be LLC
291 F.R.D. 413 (N.D. California, 2013)
Betts v. Reliable Collection Agency, Ltd.
659 F.2d 1000 (Ninth Circuit, 1981)